In June, 1953, the Church of the Holy Trinity closed as an independent white parish. Its closing was somewhat unique in that the building, with all of its ornaments, memorials, pews, pulpit, organ, etc., was made available free of charge to the Diocese of Maryland as a “Diocesan Negro Mission.” The only stipulation was that the name “Holy Trinity” be retained.
Mr. Robert Bennett of Kenyon College had conducted a survey that clearly indicated there was much neighborhood interest in the new church. With that understanding, Bishop Noble C. Powell moved expediently in appointing the Rev. Father Van Samuel Bird as minister to the new Holy Trinity congregation.
On October 1, 1953, the first services were conducted by Bird and the Rev. Cedric E. Mills of St. James’ Church, Baltimore.
Under the leadership of Bird, efforts by members brought others to commit themselves to Christ. Worship, Sunday School, Bible school, suppers, cottage meetings, and other activities were part of the early years of the congregation.
In 1964, prior to leaving Holy Trinity, Bird initiated the canonical process for making Holy Trinity a self-supporting parish in the Diocese of Maryland. After Bird’s departure, the advisory board of the church requested that the Rev. Robert H. Powell be appointed as the vicar of Holy Trinity by the bishop.
In 1969, under Powell’s leadership, Holy Trinity became a self-supporting parish and the long-planned education building was erected. Despite changes of leadership stewardship increased and the parish liquidated the mortgage on the education building in 1975.
For more than 60 years Holy Trinity has witnessed changes in the community, the culture and the times. It’s commitment to seeking and serving Christ in all people has remained the constant throughout.
Learn more: www.holytrinitybaltimore.org
Church of the Holy Trinity
2300 W. Lafayette Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland 21226